Ek Anaar ki Meethi Daastaan / Pomegranate No Bake Cheesecake

The merciless humid heat and the amazingly erratic powercuts have made me paranoid of keeping anything in the fridge for long. Because there is just so much Cottage Cheese (Paneer) I can make from curdled milk. So, I was once again looking through my fridge to see what all should I salvage when I saw the most beautiful sight. Rich, wine colored pomegranate waiting to be devoured.

But just like most families, we have our picky eaters as well, who run at the sight of fruit. And I wanted to main

tain the fresh and firm texture of the Anaar while still making it tasty, and suddenly the heat had me thinking of cooler climates and cooler things to eat and I knew, I had to make a cheesecake of the no bake kinds. And then I envisioned the white creamy delight with spots of wine colored richness and I had to be shaken to bring myself back to reality and in my hot, hot kitchen.

This Dessert is perfect for a party or anywhere where you want to impress the socks off someone. Pants too, but that’s another matter altogether.

What you need:

About 200 gms of Digestive Biscuits (I love Brittania Nutri choice, but any will do, but ONLY digestive biscuits)

About 50 gms Butter

200 gms / half a can of Condensed Milk (you can make your own condensed milk rather than buying it, and I will tell you how in a post soon)

200 gms Hung Curd / Cream Cheese (just put some Yoghurt/ Dahi in cheesecloth and hang it to let the water drain out for 3-4 hours)

1 Pomegranate Freshly de-seeded (you can take more if you want)

To start off, save yourself one biscuit. Just do it. You may want to thank me later. Now take the rest of the biscuits and put them in a bowl and crush them. I do this by hand but you can put the biscuits in a clear and clean plastic bag and use the Rolling Pin / Belan to crush the biscuits as well.

Now, add the butter to the biscuit crumbs and mix the butter in with your hands till you have a crumbly dough. And put this mixture into your serving dish (preferably a glass baking dish) and spread the mixture on the base. Press it down with your fingers till it looks like its set. I could not click a picture and so am pasting a reference image here.

Put the dish with the base in the fridge to chill. Open the can of condensed milk. And before you proceed, take that biscuit you saved and put a teaspoon of the condensed yumminess onto the biscuit and eat. It’s just to set the right mood and nothing else.

omnomnom moment!

Now take the Cream Cheese / Hung Curd and put half of that tin can in and mix the two together till they are creamy and consistent. Take the pomegranate and dump the entire bowl into the mixture. Gently fold it in, you don’t want to break any seeds.

Take the dish out of the fridge and slowly pour the mixture in and spread it on the base evenly. Put it in the fridge to set for 1-2 hours. If you want to serve it less than an hour after making it, put it in the freezer, but that generally makes the base a bit hard as the butter freezes.

You are done! The Pomegranate No Bake Cheesecake is ready. The little jewel pomegranate seeds glittering in the Cheesecake will make you feel rich without any diamonds.Pomegranate Cheesecake

Serve it up with your brilliant smile. It saved me the embarrassment of the slightly melted not yet set but amazingly delicious topping because of the blasted powercuts.

2 thoughts on “Ek Anaar ki Meethi Daastaan / Pomegranate No Bake Cheesecake

    • the essence of food should be such that someone who doesn’t know how to look should be inspired enough to do so. i am glad you feel this ways. all the best and ask me anytime for any help with thee recipes. :)

Leave a Reply

